2023 Lecturers

headshot of Heinz Pitsch

Heinz Pitsch received his Ph.D. in mechanical engineering from RWTH Aachen University in 1998. He held post-doctoral positions at UC San Diego and Stanford University and joined the faculty of Stanford University in 2003. In 2010 he returned to RWTH Aachen University to assume his present position as Head of the Institute for Combustion Technology. He is a fellow of the American Physical Society and the Combustion Institute and a recipient of two ERC Advanced Grant awards (2016, 2022), the International Award of the Japanese Combustion Society (2019), the Chaire Andre Jaumotte of the Belgian Royal Academy of Sciences (2020), the AIAA Air Breathing Propulsion award (2020), and the RWTH Innovation Award (2023).​

Headshot of Sarathy

S. Mani Sarathy is a Professor of Chemical Engineering and Associate Director of the Clean Combustion Research Center (CCRC) at King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST).  He has affiliations with the Mechanical Engineering and Environmental Science and Engineering programs at KAUST.  He was also appointed as Senior Manager of Technology and Innovation at ENOWA Hydrogen in Neom from 2020-2022.Dr. Sarathy was previously a Postdoctoral Researcher in the Combustion Chemistry group at the U.S. Department of Energy Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory.He received his PhD and M.A.Sc. degrees in Environmental and Chemical Engineering at the University of Toronto and his B.A.Sc. in Environmental Engineering Chemical Specialization from the University of Waterloo. Mani Sarathy has been named a Clarivate Analytics Highly Cited Researcher three times.His research interest is in developing sustainable energy technologies with decreased net environmental impact. A major thrust of his research is using chemical kinetic simulations to design fuels, engines, and reactors.

Headshot of Michelsen

Hope A. Michelsen is an Associate Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering and Environmental Engineering Program at the University of Colorado in Boulder. Her research program focuses on developing and using X-ray, optical, mass spectrometric, and theoretical techniques for studying the chemistry of high-temperature gas-to-condensed-phase transitions. Her research experience includes gas-surface scattering experiments, atmospheric modeling, soot-formation studies, combustion-diagnostics development, atmospheric black-carbon measurements, and greenhouse-gas source attribution. She received an A.B. in Chemistry from Dartmouth College and a Ph.D. in Chemistry with a minor in Physics from Stanford University. She completed an NSF postdoctoral fellowship at Harvard University in Earth and Planetary Sciences and was a staff scientist at Atmospheric and Environmental Research, Inc. She was a technical staff member at the Combustion Research Facility at Sandia National Laboratories for 20 years before moving to the University of Colorado in 2019. Dr. Michelsen is a Fellow of The Optical Society and the American Physical Society, a full member of Sigma Xi, an inductee of the Alameda County Women’s Hall of Fame, and an Associate Editor of the Proceedings of the Combustion Institute.

Headshot of Herzog

Howard J. Herzog is a senior research engineer in the MIT Energy Initiative (MITEI) and Executive Director of MITEI’s Carbon Capture, Utilization, and Storage low-carbon energy center.  He received his undergraduate and graduate education in chemical engineering at MIT.  He has industrial experience with Eastman Kodak, Stone & Webster, Aspen Technology, and Spectra Physics.  Since 1989, he has been on the MIT research staff, where he works on sponsored research involving energy and the environment, with an emphasis on greenhouse gas mitigation technologies. He was a Coordinating Lead Author for the IPCC Special Report on Carbon Dioxide Capture and Storage (released September, 2005) and a US delegate to the Carbon Sequestration Leadership Forum's Technical Group (June 2003-September 2007).  He was awarded the 2010 Greenman Award by the IEAGHG “in recognition of contributions made to the development of greenhouse gas control technologies”.  In 2018, he authored a book entitled Carbon Capture for the MIT Press Essential Knowledge Series. Image removed.

Richard Yetter is Professor of Mechanical Engineering at the Pennsylvania State University. He received his PhD from Princeton University and has conducted research in high temperature combustion chemistry, heterogeneous combustion, and energetic materials for over thirty years. He currently serves as editor-in-chief of Combustion Science and Technology.

Headshot of Herzog

Tim Lieuwen is a Regents’ Professor, the David S. Lewis, Jr. Professor and the Executive Director of the Strategic Energy Institute at Georgia Tech.  Prof. Lieuwen performs a range of fundamental and applied research in combustion physics, fluid mechanics, and acoustics, with particular applications in reacting flows.  Prof. Lieuwen is an international authority on clean energy and propulsion, and his work has contributed to numerous commercialized innovations in the energy and aerospace sectors.  He has authored 4 books and over 400 other publications.  Current and past board positions include governing/advisory boards for The Combustion Institute, Oak Ridge National Lab, Pacific Northwest National Lab, National Renewable Energy Lab, Electric Power Research Institute, and appointment by the DOE Secretary to the National Petroleum Counsel.  He is an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering, a fellow of ASME, APS, and AIAA.  Major awards include the ASME R. Tom Sawyer Award, AIAA Pendray Award, and ASME’s George Westinghouse Gold Medal.