Stephen J. Klippenstein received his Ph. D. in chemistry from California Institute of Technology in 1988. After one year of postdoctoral research at the University of Colorado, Boulder, he was on the faculty of the Department of Chemistry at Case Western Reserve University from 1989 to 2000, and was a member of the professional research staff of the Combustion Research Facility at Sandia National Laboratories from 2000 to 2005. He then moved to Argonne National Laboratory, where he is currently a Senior Chemist in the Chemical Sciences and Engineering Division. His research interests are in theoretical gas-phase chemical kinetics, with emphasis on the modeling of reactions of importance in combustion chemistry.


Norbert Peters received his Ph.D. in fluid mechanics from the Technical University of Berlin in 1971, and his habilitation in thermodynamics in 1975. He is presently a professor and the director of the Institute für Technische Mechanik, RWTH-Aachen. Professor Peters received the Leibniz Prize by the Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft in 1990, the Horning Memorial Award and the Arch T. Colwell Merit Award of the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) in 1990 and 1991 respectively, and the Zel'dovich Gold Medal of the Combustion Institute in 2002. He is a member of the US National Academy of Engineering.


Charles K. Westbrook received his Ph.D. from the University of California at Davis in 1974. He has been associated with the Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory since 1968, being a Leader of various divisions from 1987 to 2005. Dr. Westbrook received the Horning Memorial Award and the Arch T. Colwell Merit Award (twice) of the SAE in 1991, 2000, and 2003 respectively, the Thomas Midgley Award of the American Chemical Society in 1993, and the Bernard Lewis Gold Medal of the Combustion Institute in 2008. He is a Fellow of the SAE and the current president of the Combustion Institute.