Prof Chaudhuri

 Professor Swetaprovo Chaudhuri is an Associate Professor at the University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies. He earned his PhD in Energy and Thermal Sciences from the Department of Mechanical Engineering at the University of Connecticut in 2010. He was a research staff at the Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Princeton University until 2013, followed by six years as a faculty member at the Indian Institute of Science. In 2019 he moved to University of Toronto Institute for Aerospace Studies as a tenured Associate Professor. Prof. Chaudhuri has authored/co-authored over hundred articles in journals, conferences and books, has been honored by awards from University of Connecticut, ASME, Indian National Science Academy, and the University of Toronto. Prof. Chaudhuri’s research interests and contributions span over different aspects of turbulent reacting flows that find application in aerospace propulsion, using experiments, computations and theory.


Prof Clavin

 Professor Paul Clavin is Professor of Physics and Engineering Sciences at Aix-Marseille University (AMU) and former chair of Physical Mechanics at Institut Universitaire de France, Paris (1993-2004). He is the founder of the Research Institute "IRPHE" (CNRS/AMU/ ECM) at Marseilles. Prof. Clavin’s current research focuses on analytical studies of combustion phenomena, fluid mechanics, inertial confinement fusion and, more recently, star explosions. He is co-author with Geoff Searby of the book "Combustion Waves and Fronts in Flows" Cambridge University Press in 2015.



Dr. Philippe Dagaut is the President of The Combustion Institute. He is also the Research Director, Group Leader at CNRSINSIS, ICARE and Director of the Excellence Center CAPRYSSES. In 1986, Dr. Dagaut received his Ph.D. from University Pierre & Marie Cure, Paris. In 2011, he was awarded an ERCAdvanced Grant from the EU to work on biofuels combustion. In 2016, he received the CNRS Silver Medal and the Egerton Gold Medal (Combustion Institute). Dagaut’s research interests include: Chemical kinetics of combustion; oxidation of hydrocarbons, oxygenates, commercial and synthetic fuels; formation of pollutants, e.g., PAH, soot and secondary organic aerosols precursors. While Dagaut currently supervises Ph.D. and Master students, he is proud of the accomplishments with more than 70 former students and postdoctorals. A prolific scientific writer and editor, Dagaut is the co-author of more than 290 peer-reviewed papers, over 230 communications, and several chapters in scientific books. Dagaut has been a member of the editorial boards of international journals: The International Journal of Chemical Kinetics, 1996-1998, Progress in Energy and Combustion Science, since 2006, Combustion and Flame, 2008-2010, Recent Patents on Engineering, since 2006, Frontiers in Energy, since 2019.


Prof Ju

 Professor Yiguang Ju is the Robert Porter Patterson Professor in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering and Director of the Sustainable Energy Program at Princeton University. Professor Ju’s research interests include combustion, propulsion, and low carbon energy conversion in the areas of near limit combustion, cool flames, microscale combustion, plasma assisted propulsion, alternative fuels, chemical kinetics, multiscale modeling, and functional nano-materials. Previously, Professor Ju was appointed as a faculty at Tohoku University and the Changjiang Professor and Director of the Thermophysics Institute at Tsinghua University. He has received a number of awards including the Distinguished Paper Award from the International Symposium on Combustion, the NASA Director’s Certificate of Appreciation award, the Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award by the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation, and the international prize by Japanese combustion society. He has published more than 230 refereed journal articles. He served as the chair the US Sections of the Combustion Institute. He is an ASME (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) fellow and the fellow of Combustion Institute. He is associate editor for AIAA Journal, Proceedings of Combustion Institute, Frontiers in Energy, and Combustion Science and Technology. He earned his Ph.D. in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Tohoku University in 1994.


Prof Lu

 Professor Tianfeng Lu is a Professor at University of Connecticut. Dr. Lu received his B.S. (1994) and M.S. (1997) in Engineering Mechanics from Tsinghua University and Ph.D. (2004) in Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering from Princeton University, where he has been a research associate from 2004 and a research staff from 2005. His primary research interests include computational fluid dynamics with detailed chemistry as well as reduction of large chemical kinetic mechanisms for computationally efficient simulation of complex multidimensional, turbulent reacting flows and other engineering systems.


Prof Mastorakos

 Professor Epaminondas Mastorakos is the Hopkinson/ICI Professor of Applied Thermodynamics at the Engineering Department, University of Cambridge, and has experience with experiments, computational fluid dynamics, and combustion, especially in the fields of turbulent reacting flow experimentation and modelling, ignition and extinction of flames, spray flames, gas turbine and diesel engine combustion, natural gas engine ignition mechanisms, chemical mechanism reduction, and combustion in porous media. He has also worked on atmospheric chemistry, aerosols, dispersion of pollutants, and the fluid mechanics of shale oil and gas. He has over 150 archival publications, three of which are invited review papers in major journals. He is Associate Editor of “Combustion and Flame” and sits at the Editorial Boards of many other major combustion journals. He is co-author of a textbook on turbulent reacting flows and co-editor of a research collection. He holds patents on syngas production, radiant burners, and low-emission gas turbine combustors. He has acted as consultant to various industries in the engines and energy area and is currently the Combustion Research Coordinator in the Rolls-Royce / Cambridge University Gas Turbine Partnership. His papers have received various prizes from the Combustion Institute and he has been elected Fellow of the Combustion Institute in February 2018 and Fellow of the UK Institute of Mechanical Engineers in November 2019.